top of page
Writer's pictureStephanie Brown

Easy Mushroom Fajitas + Garlic Butter Sauce (dairyfree)

This delicious meal is a tribute to my mom. I'll never forget her making fajitas one night when I was in highschool and making a garlic butter sauce to go over it. I thought that sounded a bit strange. Guac? Yes. Salsa? Sure. But garlic butter sauce? And then I took my first bite and I was like WOWWWW! Okay, mom, I see you! Give it a try, I promise you'll love it like I did. Serve it with a side of cilantro lime jasmine rice and lime apples!



Easy Mushroom Fajitas

(serves 3-4)

6-8 small tortillas (flour or corn)

1 red bell pepper, sliced

1 green bell pepper, sliced

1 yellow bell pepper, sliced

1/2 white onion, sliced

3 large portobello mushrooms, cut stems off, sliced ~1/3 inch thick

1 tbs olive oil

1 tbs taco seasoning

1/2 lime, juiced

1/8 cup cilatnro, choppped (optional, garnish)


Garlic Butter Sauce (dairyfree)

2 tbs vegan butter, melted

1/2 tsp garlic powder

Pinch of salt


Quick Guacamole

1 avacado

1/2 tsp season salt

1/4 lime, juiced (optional)


Directions:

In a large skillet on medium heat, add oil plus peppers & onions. Cook for about 2 minutes. Add slices of mushrooms and taco seasoning. Stir to combine and cook another 7-8 minutes until mushrooms are softened and brown. After cooking, add lime juice to fajita mix, stir, and turn off the heat.


Meanwhile, make the guac and butter sauce. Mash 1 avacado up in a bowl with the season salt until smooth. Add the lime juice if you want and stir. Set aside.


Warm vegan butter in the microwave for 30 seconds to melt. Add garlic powerder and salt and stir to combine. Set aside.


On warm tortillas, add guacamole, fajita mix, and a spoonful of garlic butter sauce on top. Garnish with cilantro and serve immediately.


Side recommendations: Minute Cilantro Lime Jasmine rice only takes 90 seconds. I would use two for 3 to 4 people. Lime Apples: slice 2 gala apples with 1/2 lime, juiced. Toss to coat apples with lime juice.


Author: Stephanie Brown, dinnerpartyofthree

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page